Sunday 20th August 2017,
Poetry Potion

DFL 2012 “LOVER + another”

Overall Score

This year’s Drama For Life performance poetry challenge had the theme – “lover + another

As in the past years, the poets came from all over South Africa.

Donald “Neosapien” Mogale @ DFL 2012

The show was fun, even the MC-ing done by Jeff Tshabalala was a performance. Donald ‘Neosapien’ Mogale opened up the show with a loving poem  that had the sister’s oohing and fingers snapping in appreciation.

The 12 finalists presented amazing poems but in the End there could on be one winner. Before we get there, these were the finalists:

  1. Nosipho Gumede (GP)
  2. Mzamo Selby Dlamini (KZN)
  3. Vuyelwa Maluleke (GP)
  4. Tumiso Praise Marebane (KZN)
  5. Gcobisa Sihle’sam Maholwa (EC)
  6. Charles Njabulo Gumede (KZN)
  7. Thembisile Molaba (KZN)
  8. Innocent Sibusiso Mzamo Khoza (EC)
  9. Coco Putuma (WC)
  10. Manaledi Mapena (KZN)
  11. Mbongeni Nomkhonwana (WC)
  12. Nqobile Ngcobo (KZN)

Each of the poets had their own way of doing things. Nosipho likes to use props in her performance, while Mzamo loves to involve the audience in his piece and  relied heavily on “end of the line” rhyme. While most of the poets performed in english, Mzamo performed in isiZulu and Nqobile cleverly used both English and isiZulu.

Unfortunately, while I don’t remember clearly disliking any of the poems I heard, some of the poets were rather forgettable.

The  judges were Warren Leaby , Khosi XabaKarabo Kgoleng (lit sunday on safm, books editor at city press), Afurakan.

The poets that moved on to the second round were

  1. Nosipho
  2. Mzamo
  3. Thembisile
  4. Coco
  5. Nqobile
  6. Sibusiso
This is when things got interesting. According to the rules, the poets were allowed to either perform a brand new poem or a poem they already performed in the first round. And this where I think three of the poets messed it up. But there was some confusion because when Thembisile started her poem, the same piece the performed in the first round, I wasn’t sure if it was the same poem. It sounded the same but different. I’m not sure but it seemed like she missed a few lines or rearranged them. then Coco also performed the same piece as before – the audience groaned in disapproval; Sibusiso also did the same. it’s not their poems weren’t enjoyable but we didn’t want to hear the same poems twice in one night. These poets ceded the competition this way because even the judges were not going to be able to judge the same poem they had heard a few minutes ago differently.
The other three – Nosipho, Mzamo and Nqobile – presented different poems and this put them well ahead of the other three. At this point the top 3 were obvious.

WINNER: Nosipho Gumede

Nosipho Gumede @ DFL 2012

1st RUNNER UP: Mzamo Dlamini

Mzamo Dlamini

2nd RUNNER UP: Nqobile Ngcobo


Nqobile Ngcobo

The other highlights of the show included the arrival of JZ Bling Bling and Miss Diversity whose vibrant, excitable presents left us all reeling in laughter. Cornerlius Jones, Bongani Mdletshe and Toni Stuart also performed.
The photos will be posted in the gallery soon… Video’s of these performances can be found on our Youtube Channel –


5 (100%) 1 vote

Like this Article? Share it!

About The Author

1 Comment

  1. Jesus 22 October 2015 at 3:45 am

    I can’t do anger either, Niamh, thugoh I feel it. I can’t write it directly onto the page in poetry either, not as you have done here. I have to write around anger, little hints perhaps, as such I have not been able to raise the fare to catch tomorrow’s poetry bus, thugoh at one stage I thugoht I might. So far I have yet to see the insides of this bus. I only ever watch as others drive past.

Leave A Response