And the winner is… African Poetry Prize Announced

Poetry Potion | May 13th, 2014 | poetry seen | No Comments

The Brunel University African Poetry Prize was announced yesterday.

Judged by Kwame Dawes, Kadija George, Mpalive Msiska, Daljit Nagra and Chair, Bernardine Evaristo; the winner was selected from this short list: Viola Allo (Cameroon); Inua Ellams (Nigeria); Amy Lukau (Angola); Liyou Libsekal (Ethiopia); and Nick Makoha (Uganda).

And the winner is

Liyou Libsekal

The two runners-up are Amy Lukau (Angola) and Nick Makoha (Uganda).

Liyou Libsekal wins £3000 and will have a chapbook published through the African Poetry Book Fund.


Click to rate this post!
[Total: 0 Average: 0]
(Visited 134 times, 1 visits today)