Quaz | August 15th, 2021 | poet muses | No Comments

(poet, playwright, academic)

Recapturing ourselves

In the rubble of facades

Every piece a victory

We’ll have to create

A monument of pieces

Every calendar day a monument

Every monument a victory

Every loss a victory

Triumphant sacrifice

For we alone could afford another loss

We alone possess the ancestral touch

To turn every loss into a victory 

Monuments/Bhambatha 1991/97 by Maishe Maponya

Image-Theatre Lives

MAISHE MAPONYA passed away on the 29th of July 2021. The Poet, playwright and academic was born in Alexandra township but grew up in Diepkloof Soweto after the forced removal and relocation of black people in 1961.

Maponya became a world-renowned playwright and one of South Africa’s foremost theatre-makers, with his 1979 play The Hungry Earth receiving critical acclaim and touring Britain, Germany and France.  Some of his other plays include Peace and Forgive (1977), Umongikazi: The Nurse (1982), Dirty Work and Gangsters (both 1984), Changing the Silence (1985), Busang Meropa (1986) Jika (1988) and The Coat (1990).

In 1985, he became the first Black person to be awarded the Standard Bank Young Artist award for drama. He was a founding member of Bahumutsi Theatre Company (1973 – 1983). Through his interest in poetry, he developed a friendship with poet, painter and playwright Matsemela Manaka. They would eventually go on to find the Allah Poets– a group of creatives that composed of  Manaka (a playwright), Mothobi Mutloatse, Es’kia Mphahlele, Makhulu Ledwaba (a unionist), Ingoapele Madingoane (a poet), Maponya (a playwright) and numerous other artists. Maponya was also the founder member of Bahumutsi Theatre Company (1973 – 1983).  Between 2001 and 2003 he served as director of arts, culture and heritage services for the City of Johannesburg.

Maponya was a lecturer in drama at the University of the Witwatersrand, where he published a collection of his plays titled Doing Plays for a Change (1995).  His other publications include two poetry collections, This Land Is My Witness (2016) and Da’s Kak in die Land (2018). 

Click to rate this post!
[Total: 1 Average: 5]
(Visited 133 times, 1 visits today)