Press Release: The Brunel University African Poetry Prize – Shortlist

Poetry Potion | January 31st, 2013 | poetry seen | No Comments

The Brunel University African Poetry Prize is a major new poetry prize of £3000 aimed at the development, celebration and promotion of poetry from Africa. The prize is sponsored by Brunel University and partnered by Commonwealth Writers, the Africa Centre UK, and the African Poetry Book Fund USA.

The judges of the Prize have now decided on a shortlist for the prize which is for immediate release.

The winner will be announced on 30th April 2013. For more information on the prize, please see below and visit the rest of this website.

The judges are Sharmilla Beezmohun, Kwame Dawes, Karen McCarthy Woolf, Mpalive Msiska and Chair, Bernardine Evaristo. Out of 655 entries, the judges came up with a shortlist of six poets, none of whom has yet published a full length book.

The shortlisted poets are: Peter Akinlabi from Nigeria; Viola Allo from Cameroon; Lena Bezawork Grönlund from Ethiopia; Kayo Chingoyni from Zambia; Chielozona Eze from Nigeria; Warsan Shire from Somalia. read more

Click to rate this post!
[Total: 0 Average: 0]
(Visited 89 times, 1 visits today)